top of page
  • Writer's pictureA.M.

Book vs. Movie vs. Anime - Another

Recently I read a book called Another, a two volume Japanese light novel, written by Yukito Ayatsuji and it was AMAZING! Well, for me, anyway.


It's a horror novel, according to Goodreads, but I wouldn't say horror exactly, because there's not an actual ghost or any spooky hauntings. I would say it's more of a Supernatural Thriller.


The book is about Class 3 in Yomi North Middle School. 26 years ago, there was a popular student named Misaki, who unfortunately dies just before graduation. The student is so well-liked, that the rest of his classmates can't bear to admit that Misaki is dead, and pretend that he is alive, instead. And thus begins the curse of Class 3.


The book follows the main character, Koishi Sakakibara, who is new to the school. He makes a friend named Misaki...





I won't write any more because I don't want to spoil anything, but I highly recommend the book to anyone who enjoys reading supernatural mysteries.


The book is originally in Japanese, and translated into English, so it might be a bit hard to follow at first, but trust me it's worth the read.


The ending is definitely the highlight for the book- I did not expect it at all.


I really liked the style of writing so after reading more about the author, I saw that there was a movie made, and I had to watch it. I was curious to see how they captured the ending, especially. And it starred Kento, who is my friends' favorite actor.


If you haven't read the book, then you might like the movie, but I was really disappointed. They changed everything!!! And the ending was... Not good at all (compared to the book, that is).


I mean, why can't they just stick to the book???


So then I decided to watch the anime.



You might be wondering why I'm so obsessed. It's just the ending... It's hard to explain without spoiling anything, so let's just say that it's the type of ending that works when you read it, but is hard to imagine how you could show it in a movie or series.


Anyway, the anime was really good! There were a few minor changes here and there, but it stuck to the story, ending included! 10/10 would recommend (It's available in Netflix and is only 12 eps long).


There's also a manga, for those who enjoy reading them.


So here's my verdict:


Book>>>Anime=Manga>>Movie


Note: if you're watching the anime or movie, it's kinda gory and a little violent, so...





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page