top of page
  • Writer's pictureA.M.

Book Review: Well-Behaved Indian Women by Saumya Dave

After I finished this book, all I could do was just sit still for a moment because of the whirlwind of emotions that were inside me.


I don't even know where to begin, so, let me quote some of my favorite lines from the book:


"It was the culture's fault. Women were supposed to be accustomed to nursing guilt and blame. They had to keep their husbands sane. Teach children manners. Make the perfect daal."


"Are they content with where their lives went? Or did they just do what was expected of them-or worse, what was safe?"


"The minute a girl bleeds, she no longer belongs to herself."


and lastly (my personal favorite)


"For years, we assumed ambition was a curse for us. Men could always wear it like a cape, while women were forced to tuck and hold it inside themselves. "


Honestly, while reading these words, I felt like Saumya Dave had read my mind. These are things that I've said before and to see them written out (and worded much more eloquently, if I must say) was surreal.


Well-Behaved Indian Women is a "mother-daughter story about 3 generations of women" and the struggles they've faced and continue to face in the pursuit of their dreams. It's also the first book where, within the pages, I could find pieces of the women in my family- my mother, my aunt and myself.


In Simran, I could see Me. Her hopes and dreams, her outspoken-ness... Her refusal to conform to standard Indian traditions and her confusions regarding them; I've never been able to relate to a character so much.


In Nandini, I could see my mother. Having to work and take care of everyone around her, having to give up her dreams and ambitions for the sake of the family. The pain of people judging her every move; I've always been close to my mother but with this book I feel like I can understand her so much more.


I could also see my aunt- the doctor of the family, who inspired me to pursue a career in medicine. For example, Nandini goes through the pressure of having to attend to her relative's medical needs (without appointments), while her husband had the liberty to set up his own private practice. This was something my aunt faces too, with relatives badgering her about their medical concerns even at family functions!

Mami, Nandini's mother and Simran's grandmother, is the grandmother I truly aspire to be someday. Mami made me realise that age really is just a number and you can always achieve your goals at any stage of life.


So, if you haven't understood by now, this book was AMAZING and I loved it. Also, I suppose now I need to re-title this post, from Book Review to REASONS WHY YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK! Haha, but seriously. Read it. :)


 

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page